top of page

What People are Saying

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Daniel

Director | Northgate Internship Program

February 26, 2019

average rating is 5 out of 5

Very practical, and well-developed refresher!

I thoroughly appreciated participating in this course - I found it highly practical and succinct. I have lead a few teams on STM trips and have developed some key checklists, systems, and guides for my personal use as I prepare each year, however, Mark gives some practical language and additional tools that could serve helpful for the junior and experienced STM leader alike. I would definitely recommend this course to churches as a resource for those in their congregation or on their staff who will be leading STMs in the foreseeable future.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Jenny

February 23, 2019

average rating is 5 out of 5

Missions with Excellence

It can be reasonably easy to gather a group of people and head to another place to "help people over there". Mark helped us take another step toward knowing how to train a TEAM, how to walk beside other people and encourage them, and how to process the experience upon return. If you are interested in leading a mission team, STMleader will guide you in doing it with excellence!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Jessica

December 18, 2018

average rating is 5 out of 5

Excellent Course!

I thought after having visited my host many times I was taking this course because I was obligated to do so by the host in order to lead a team. However this could not be further from the truth. I found the course to be engaging and thought provoking. I believe my team members have a much better chance at an impactful experience as a result of this course. Highly recommended!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Brad

October 18, 2018

average rating is 5 out of 5

5 out of 5

Thanks Mark for the many tools and resources that I can use to make any stm's in the future successful.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Vanessa

June 13, 2018

average rating is 5 out of 5

STM Leadership Course

Mark gave me lots of amazing food for thought in how to have discussions with others in the group. How to take a missions trip from scratch to finish. Great to have a Leadership team that wants to excel you from the start and continue to be there for you afterwards. Thank you all. Vanessa Sendle-Dinger

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Jim

President

May 1, 2018

average rating is null out of 5

I wanted to stand up and cheer

Having been involved in short term missions for 20 years it was time for leaders to hear from someone other than me. As I sat and listened to Mark's presentation I wanted to stand up and cheer! Not only did he affirm what I had been telling team leaders, he brought new perspectives to everyone involved. Including Me !

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Josh

March 26, 2018

average rating is 5 out of 5

Worth It!

There is so much to this course, and Mark does a great job of unpacking it all. Tons of useful information, planning procedures, and just things to know that you probably didn't before. I highly recommend this course even if you are just thinking about short-term missions.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Vincent

January 21, 2018

average rating is 5 out of 5

STM Leadership

Here I found a collective wisdom, live in Mark and the group, and stored in the course materials. I've survived a lot of trips by God's grace and the seat-of-my pants. This new foundation is a welcome assurance for the ongoing mission.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Troy

December 19, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Essential course for anybody going on short term missions

This course is so comprehensive and thorough. I had a lot of anxiety as I was in the beginning stages of planning a Short Term Missions trip for my church, and now I feel much more confident and don't feel so alone as I plan. This course has been a life saver for me. It's so excellent that I'm suggesting to my church leadership that we make this course mandatory for all future short term missions trip leaders

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Taylore

December 11, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

TAKE THIS COURSE!

If you are leading a mission team, and you think you know it all, take this course!
If you are leading a mission team, and you think you know nothing, take this course!

Whether its a refresher, or a wealth of new information, this course is spot on! Plus, the added promise of on-field support is invaluable!!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Kelly

December 7, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

The "Swiss Army Knife" tool to prepare for leading an international missions team

This was a Just-in-Time training for me as I literally finished the main course content and then boarded a plane with our Missions Team for El Salvador. Mark has everything well thought out... and well laid out and all the content helped prepare me... who then helped with our pastor / team leader to prepare the team before, during and after the trip. Our team was 14 people and we left excited what the Lord would do; we experienced what the Lord did there, and in us; and we returned excited, blessed with many new connections and friendships. I did not know this type of training was available. This is 'must-do' training for leaders.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Debbie

October 15, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Although I had already led a few STM courses, I was looking for a way to improve my leadership skills. This course really met my expectations. I feel much more equipped with planning the logistics of leading a team, training a team and dealing with the tough issues. Thanks to my church for sending me. Thanks Mark for teaching such a great course and providing thorough notes.
Debbie Hoffele
Welland, Ontario

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Michelle

October 13, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

STM Training Was Excellent

Content, content, content. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of content and resources made available through the STM leadership course. Mark is super personable and willing to go the extra mile to make sure his students/colleagues in ministry succeed in their missions endeavor. I highly recommend the course to anyone looking to sharpen their skills or provide training to their teams.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Rachel

October 12, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

STM Leadership course- worth the investment

This course helped me to be a more confident leader. The material is amazing and you can apply it to so many areas of your ministry. Its also a neat way to talk to and bounce ideas off many other leaders across Canada.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Adam

June 20, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Thanks Mark

I had an amazing experience and the information I learned is priceless. I am able to use what I learned in this course at my team meetings and the information will prove very useful over the course of my trip. I would highly recommend this course to any short term leader or participant.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Leah

June 20, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Great tools and learnings

The STM Leader Certification course really added a lot of tools to my toolbox as a team leader. I found it to be a good blend of practical, hands-on learning combined with big-picture content. I know I'll be referring back to course materials as I lead teams in the future.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Joe

June 16, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Very Insightful and Practical

The STM Leader Certification has changed the lens through which I see and understand the value of short term missions. The sessions and resources cover everything you need to know to lead a team on mission. You get to keep all of the resources which is a huge added bonus. 10 out of 10 would recommend whether you are a novice leader or a missions expert. Everyone can learn something from this course.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Greg

April 25, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Awesome

Thanks Mark. I pray God blesses your ministry.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Loretta

March 20, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

STM Leader Certification Course

Mark has done an exception job of creating this course and a strong vision for STM leadership.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Sunday

March 13, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

New perspective on STMs

After attending the STM leadership program, I just realized how intentional doing short term mission can be, somewhat different from the spontaneous/organic approach I naturally will gravitate to. I feel strongly, this can be an enhancer rather than inhibits previously conceived approach, a not so structured one to short term mission efforts. I find the level of details in the program fascinating but very pragmatic.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Thomas

March 7, 2017

average rating is null out of 5

From the Gideons International

Mark and his training opened my eyes to how much more we can improve our short-term missions trips at the Gideons International in Canada. No matter how experienced one is in leading missions, this course will still show you how you can improve. There are best practices for short-term missions trip leadership and Mark will get you to that level. Implementing this training will allow you to provide an excellent experience for your trip members. I highly recommend this course for every short-term missions leader.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Charlene

March 2, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Learn from a distance

I am a novice short term leader so found this course very helpful in preparing me for our upcoming trip this year.
Thank you Mark for allowing us to learn from a distance.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Maria

February 24, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Shifted my view on mission

Very informative. I found my view on short term missions actually shift throughout the training. It gave great practical info on how to run and the desired outcomes of STMs. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Fernando

February 22, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Helps me as a mission pastor

STM Training not only helps equip me personally to lead better with STM teams, but it help me as a missions Pastor at my church to create mission language and training that is the same across the board at our church, which will and is leading to better alignment in STMs at my church in both youth and adult missions. I highly recommend this training to any church that does STMs.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Scott

February 21, 2017

average rating is 5 out of 5

Very Relevant

This course in very relevant for those who would be leading a group on short term missions. This course is a great tool and is worth while for those in leadership to take.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Dallas

December 13, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Comprehensive

The wealth of experience that Mark draws from and packages it in a practical, empowering way is invaluable. Not only will it benefit the leader, but team members, hosts and churches will be grateful.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Dylan

December 7, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Nov 2016 STM Leadership course

I loved learning from others and hearing about the different experiences. As a result of the training I have a greater awareness of missions, the good and the negative they can cause. I would definitely recommend STM Leader to my friends

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Randy

October 25, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Beyond my Expectations!

I always take courses and workshops with the attitude of "I hope to walk away with one new thing ". If I learned one new thing or if I'm inspired to do something in a new and better way, then I'm happy. I take that attitude because I've been around a while and so a lot I hear are only good reminders of what I already know (at least in my field). But even after leading people on missions trips for 15 years I found Mark had so many great ideas and resources that I lost count of the number of new things I learnt in this course. Thanks Mark for making me feel like a kid again, I learnt so much!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Ken

October 24, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

September 2016 STM Leadership Training was great

Mark did a great job investing in this group his wealth of knowledge and first hand experience. I have found this course challenging me about what STM really is and how to be effective. This course could easily be a 6 month course. There is so much material to soak up. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who has a passion for short term missions

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Kathryn

October 16, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Excellent for Beginners and Veterans!

I appreciate all you've done to help us as hosts Mark! This is excellent. The better we are at communicating, the better interns we can have work with us!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Rick

September 1, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

First Do No Harm

I had the opportunity to take this course at a recent training session. I have worked with Mark as my coach on a mid term deployment and was familiar with much of the information Mark delivered. I agree wholeheartedly with Mark's approach with this material and his personal examples reinforced the learning. With experience working in another culture and understanding Mark's expertise with the material it was an excellent reminder of the key fundamentals of cross cultural work. I would suggest strongly that every person going for the first time on a short or medium term developmental deployment take this course.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Susan

August 25, 2016

average rating is 4 out of 5

Training review

I am very grateful for Mark and the training he provided. I know the success of our mission trip to the Philippines was mostly due to the training Mark provided in preparing me as a leader. There were so many times when something would come up and I was prepared for it only because I took this course.
I also very much appreciated being able to debrief with Mark when I returned. I took the time to debrief with my prayer partner when I returned but it was also really great to debrief with Mark and talk about the trip with him.
The course material was incredibly useful as well and I used it to keep track of my budget, expenditures and purchases and as handouts for my team.
I know that I will be using this material for years to come and adding to it from my own experiences to fine tune it to personally fit.

Thanks again Mark - you are a great teacher!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Shane

August 15, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Take this Course! :)

This is a must-take course for anyone considering taking a short-term missions trip, regardless of whether it is for local or international missions. The course is full of wisdom and practical application in areas of administration, team building, working with hosts, and team training, and I recommend it very highly!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Paul

August 15, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

GREAT INFORMATION

If you're doing missions in your own back yard or other nations this course will help you to do it in a very practical way and give you the tools to help your team be a blessing to other cultures.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Michelle

May 4, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Amazing!

I feel like I've tapped into a wealth of resources when it comes to leading short-term missions. I very much appreciated Mark's very practical advice and keen insights! I love how he goes beyond conventional ways of thinking about missions, to take a step back and evaluate why we do what we do and what exactly does it set out to accomplish. Thank you for raising the bar and providing a standard by which we can think, approach and lead short-term missions!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Lisa

May 3, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Best Ever!

I've been leading teams for over ten years now and learned SO much from this course! Mark is the best ever! He teaches from a place of great experience, humility & humour. I'm so thankful for the simple and fun way he taught us new perspectives on STMs, shared great & practical resources, and helped us process our own STM experiences through the lens of story and relationship. Looking forward to sending many more team leaders his way!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Delynne

March 29, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Feel better equipped to lead

Great job Mark! I learned a lot and enjoyed your training sessions! Feel better equipped to l lead and yet know I have a lot of room to grow and learn as I continue to serve in missions! Will refer back to our course curriculum a lot in the future

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Cal

February 23, 2016

average rating is 4 out of 5

Fantastic Content!

Hey Mark;

Course was great. Fantastic content! You've covered a lot of stuff and given great resources. The only thing I would say that might help is sometimes the questions during the Skype calls might not have been super clear as to what you were looking for so that's why I think there was a lot of silence and a sense of trying to pull things out of people. No biggie though. Happy to have gone through the course!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Vincent

February 23, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

All STM leaders must take!

This is a great course for newbies or veterans - I'm sure you'll learn a thing or two at the very least. Mark does a great job in delivering the material and I love the hand outs which I'll be using for years to come. I especially appreciate the "sample lessons" that one can do as-is or modify for their own context. His wealth of knowledge, stories and experiences is very evident and at any time, you can pick his brain for help. As a STM team member, it would be great to know that your team leader has gone through training/certification themselves before taking you out on the missions field.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Karen

February 19, 2016

average rating is 5 out of 5

Leadership Certification Course

I have really appreciated the opportunity to take the STM leadership Certification. I have received so much useful information to lead our team going to El Salvador in August . Mark's personality - relaxed attitude , wealth of knowledge , and evident love for God - made the course - even more interesting and meaningful . You have given me all the tools required to have a positive and effective experience. Thank you Mark for your dedication and passion to equip us with the Tools. May God continue to inspire and lead you.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Murray

International Missions Director

January 8, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

Insightful, passionate, culturally sensitive and encouraging

Mark Crocker has helped hundreds of volunteers and career workers serve in cross-cultural mission contexts. His insightful, passionate, culturally sensitive and encouraging training style has helped many to be effective in short-term service around the world. He will help all who ask to make their mission adventure a great success.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Brian & Beth

Team Leaders, Grace Gate Community Church

January 5, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

A learning experience that is encouraging

Mark is a very knowledgeable and gracious leader, providing a learning experience that is encouraging and creates a desire to learn more about foreign missions and serving abroad.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Aaron

Team Leader - Bethel Evangelical Missionary Church

January 4, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

A great outline to follow

Mark is passionate and knowledgeable in this area of leadership and the program gives a great outline to follow as we embark on our own mission with a team

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Ron

Pastor - Living Springs Christian

January 4, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

A beneficial course for anyone going

Mark has put together a great package of training materials. The materials are comprehensive and organized. He is friendly and easy to work with during the cohort sessions. This is a beneficial course for anyone going on a missions trip.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Bob

Lead Pastor

January 4, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

Broad Experience

Mark, has a broad experience in short term mission team training and leadership and understands the best practices that make mission trips effective and meaningful.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Bill & Rhea Lynne

Team Leaders - Trinity Lutheran Church

January 4, 2016

average rating is null out of 5

An abundance of information

I would recommend this training to anyone leading a mission team. It will give you an abundance of information and help give you perspective and direction.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Philip

Team Leader - The Harbour Community Church

November 6, 2015

average rating is null out of 5

Thoroughly impressed

I was thoroughly impressed with the training, content and delivery of the STM Leadership Certification program. It benefitted me immensely.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Mark

Team Leader, The Father's house

November 1, 2015

average rating is null out of 5

What a treasure chest of information

Mark's heart for equipping leaders so that they may lead well is very obvious through his teaching and experience. I believe that his knowledge and foresight puts him in a perfect position and attitude to be teaching these skillsets. What a treasure chest of information.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Nadine

Mission Leader at Family Worship Centre.

October 15, 2015

average rating is null out of 5

Step by step instructions on how to start strong and end well.

I have struggled with a lack of self-confidence in teaching/leading. I have always thought that I didn’t know enough to be able to lead and loved to serve instead. I seemed to have always fumbled with words. You have showed me step by step instructions on how to start strong and end well. By working together and going through each section piece by piece, I gained confidence. I liked the one-on-one, face-to-face, sessions with you. You really challenged me to keep going and keep learning till it wasn’t so overwhelming. Thank you, Mark, for taking the time to work with me. It is truly amazing how the effects of this really are.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Tania

STM Team Leader

October 14, 2014

average rating is null out of 5

Mark has a great way of not just helping people "do" missions better

The STM network training revealed many of our short comings in team prep for the field, as well as what we've been doing right. It's been a valuable resource for our next missions trip. Mark has a great way of not just helping people "do" missions better....he helps them "understand" missions more fully too! I would definitely recommend this program to other leaders!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Karen

STM Team Leader

October 13, 2014

average rating is null out of 5

Taken my confidence to a new level

STMleader with Mark Crocker as my trainer, has taken my confidence to a new level. My time spent with him in training has opened my mind to a greater understanding of foreign fields, team leading and development, communication, strategies, and so much more. Mark is quick to listen, patient in teaching you where you are at, and is a wealth of information. You are truly a great teacher Mark and your heart is certainly very apparent in what you do.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Jamie

Pastor at Millbrook Christian Assembly

June 5, 2014

average rating is null out of 5

I would highly recommend to anyone, no matter how experienced

In Spring I led a STM to Honduras, this wasn't my first time doing something like this but it was the first time that I had gone through the STM certification. I wasn't a rookie, but I found the training to be really helpful and wished that I had the opportunity to do this ten years ago when I started leading STM trips. Everything was useful and valuable and I would highly recommend to anyone, no matter how experienced, that they avail themselves of this training. Mark Crocker was engaging, friendly and exceedingly helpful. I looked forward to my skype sessions with him. Keep up the good work.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Mike

Team Lead

May 31, 2014

average rating is null out of 5

They found out and understood who I really am

My greatest concern about hiring STMleader.com was regarding the practical side of leading STM teams. Theory is important but would they address and understand the practical side of things? As leaders we all have different strengths and needs and STM Leader has set up this course to address us as individual leaders. They found out and understood who I really am, and then equipped and encouraged my leadership growth. I highly recommend STMleader.com to be part of any STM team preparation.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Ken

Youth Pastor at Beddington Church

May 30, 2014

average rating is null out of 5

Using Leader Certification was a LIFESAVER!

Using Leader Certification was a LIFESAVER! It not only shaved off dozens of hours off of prep work, but I felt my team was more prepared and ready to rock than when I created the materials myself. I especially enjoyed the fact that it just wasn’t more paper curriculum, but instead Mark and I Skyped every week which helped me feel support and better understand the material. I’d recommend this to any church leader who is planning on taking a team to an international missions destination!

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Ian

International Mobilization Manager for Samaritan's Purse Canada

April 16, 2013

average rating is null out of 5

A unique resource for all things short term missions

STMleader.com is a unique resource for all things short term missions. Anyone that is serious about intentional cross cultural ministry should consult with STMleader.com.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Allan

Chief Academic Officer, Vanguard College

April 10, 2013

average rating is null out of 5

Served with excellence!

Mark has served with excellence! Training our staff to be able to better prepare short term missions trip leaders.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Joe

Associate Pastor at Evangel Pentecostal Church

April 9, 2013

average rating is null out of 5

The best decision we made

At first, planning an STM trip to Haiti in 2013 was a frightening task. I had such little experience, as did virtually all of my team. Our host in Haiti recommended STM Leader and it was by far the best decision we made for planning and training. There were so many "missions myths" debunked for us by our trainer. We ended up traveling and serving and simply loving the people with much greater confidence and understanding of what being missional is all about. I highly recommend STM Leader and will be using this resource for every STM trip our church runs.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Andy

Lead Pastor at Coastline Church

April 9, 2013

average rating is null out of 5

I can't imagine a better way to prepare

Huge thanks to Mark and the STM team for preparing us to be the best team our hosts have ever received. I can't imagine a better way to prepare for all that waits for you and your team on the field. Mark helped us think about and prepare for so many elements of global engagement that we would have missed. From choosing a global partner, to send thank you cards to your host once you have returned...STM Leader will lead you step by step with skill, heart and expertise.

STM Leader Logo - with border.png
Tracey

Mission Volunteer to Malawi

April 9, 2013

average rating is null out of 5

I feel better equipped

The training I've gotten for my upcoming year overseas has been very thought provoking and enlightening. I feel better equipped to handle the adventure awaiting me. Thank you STMleader.com!

bottom of page